Off-Piste Skiing in Heiligenblut am Grossglockner

Powder snow & ultimate freedom in the Grossglockner/Heiligenblut Freeride Arena
The sun is dazzling in a perfect blue sky. The air is crisp and cold; last night brought a new layer of fresh snow. We take the first cable-car of the day, hoping to be the first to reach the mountains. So far, there is no-one in the ski area apart from workers and safety officers, ensuring smooth runs in the new snow. You feel the biting cold on your face, and as soon as you put on your skis you know that your off-piste dreams are about to come true.

And we’re off – diving into the endless freedom of an untouched mountainside. Turn after turn, metre by metre, we carve our trail into the virgin snow. The Grossglockner looks on from a distance – a quiet observer, reflecting our sense of joy. As soon as we hit the end, the decision is clear: back up again, for one more incredible powder run in the Heiligenblut Freeride Arena.

Freeride Arena & Sectors

The vast area surrounding the Grossglockner is divided into six Freeride Sectors – ranging from Sector A (Schareck) to Sector F (valley runs). This allows experienced off-piste skiers to put together their own tailor-made itinerary. Please note that the Freeride Sectors are not secured, maintained or marked, but entirely natural runs – usually covered in the most fantastic powder snow. This does, however, require off-piste skiers to place a strong focus on their own safety, and have a good knowledge of avalanche safety and local topography.

Ski routes & Safety Check-Point

A ski route is an openly accessible ski-run that is not prepared or groomed – however, it is marked and secured against avalanches. In contrast to the Freeride Sectors, ski routes provide a high degree of overall safety. Nevertheless, any type of off-piste skiing adventure requires good levels of training and skill. At the Freeride Checkpoint, you can test your avalanche transceiver and gain valuable information about avalanche risk, open or shut-off runs, as well as current and forecast weather conditions – all free of charge.

Freeride Arena – facts & figures:

Courses & guided tours - out and about with our local experts

The topic of safety must always be central to any off-piste adventure. In addition, a skiing or mountain guide will be able to ensure that you get the absolute most out of your off-piste day. Our guides know how to select the most suitable runs, make accurate risk assessments – and, of course, show you their favourite ‘secret’ runs, which any non-local would be hard-pressed to find. The Grossglockner/Heiligenblut Snow Sports School and the Grossglockner Mountain Guide offer a range of services and courses, and are the perfect partners for an unforgettable day in the powder snow.

Safety Check: what to consider when going off-piste

Itching to have an unforgettable powder-snow experience in the Freeride Arena?

With the right preparation, there is nothing quite as exhilarating as the powder runs of the Grossglockner/Heiligenblut Freeride Arena. If you’ve got a taste for off-piste freedom, then embrace it – load your skis, pack your safety gear, and hop in the car for an unforgettable adventure in Heiligenblut am Grossglockner!

We’ll be delighted to advice you on any aspect of planning your holiday. Simply contact us with your query, send us a non-binding holiday enquiry, or phone us on +43 4824 2700-20.

Send an enquiryFind free accommodations
360° Panorama
Pano
Webcams
Cams
Lifte
 0/11
-1°C/3°C
Kalender
Booking

Freeriden im Erlebnisraum Grossglockner/Heiligenblut

Powder-Dreams & Freeride Life Style in der Freeride-Arena Großglockner/Heiligenblut
Die Sonne strahlt von einem makellos-blauen Himmel. Es ist bitterkalt und die vergangene Nacht hat eine frische Schicht Neuschnee gebracht. Wir steigen in die erste Gondel des Tages, hoffentlich sind wir die ersten am Berg. Bisher waren nur Arbeiter und Sicherheitsbeauftragte im Skigebiet unterwegs und sorgen für Sicherheit im Neuschnee. Die Luft “beißt” und beim Ski anschnallen wird sofort klar, das wird ein echter Freeride-Traum.

Und dann geht es los und wir tauchen ein in die endlose Freiheit eines unverspurten Pulverschneehanges. Schwung für Schwung und Meter für Meter zeichnen wir unsere Spuren in den frischen Schnee. Der Großglockner steht als stiller Beobachter in der Ferne, selbst er kann unsere Freude noch spüren. Unten angekommen sind sich alle einig: gleich rauf und nochmal eintauchen in den Powder-Dream in der Freeride-Arena Heiligenblut.

Freeride-Arena & Sektoren

Sechs Freeride Sektoren sind es, die das schier endlose Gebiet rund um den höchsten Berg des Landes einteilen. Von Sektor A – Schareck bis Sektor F – Tal-Runs reicht die Palette und in ihr können sich versierte Freerider ihren Freeride-Tag individuell zusammenstellen. Die Sektoren und die Abfahrten sind nicht gesichert und nicht markiert. Es handelt sich um freien Skiraum, in dem meist herrlicher Pulverschnee wartet. Allerdings muss hier ein großes Augenmerk auf Sicherheit gelegt werden. Wer auf ihnen unterwegs ist, sollte über gutes Know-How in Sachen Lawinen- und Geländekunde verfügen.

Skirouten & Safety Check-Point

Eine Skiroute ist eine allgemein zugängliche Abfahrt, die zwar nicht präpariert, jedoch markiert und vor Lawinengefahr gesichert ist. Im Unterschied zu den Freeride-Sektoren kann man auf den Skirouten von einer sehr hohen Sicherheit ausgehen. Über gutes Know-How und Freeride-Skills sollte man aber dennoch verfügen. Am gratis Freeride-Checkpoint mit LVS-Test verschaffen sich Freerider wertvolle und aktuelle Informationen über Lawinenlage, geöffnete Anlagen, lokales Wetter und dessen Entwicklung.

Facts & Figures zur Freeride-Arena

Guiding und Kurse - mit Experten unterwegs

Sicherheit ist eines der wichtigsten Themen, wenn es um unvergessliche Freeride-Tage geht. Nicht nur das, wer mit einem Guide oder Bergführer loszieht, kann sicher sein, das Beste aus seinem Freeride-Tag rauszuholen. Die local Guides vor Ort wissen Bescheid. Sie kennen die besten Abfahrten, können die Gefahr und Sicherheit am besten einschätzen und zeigen Ihnen sicher gerne ihre “Secret Runs”, die Sie auf eigene Faust niemals finden würden. Die Schneesportschule Grossglockner/Heiligenblut und die Großglockner Bergführer bieten diverse Kurse an und sind verlässliche Partner, wenn es die schönsten Tage im Pulverschnee geht.

Safety Check: darauf achten wir beim Freeriden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Heiß auf unvergessliche Powder-Tage in der Freeride-Arena?

Dann wird es Zeit, sich auf den Weg zu machen. Ski verladen, Safety-Gear packen, rein ins Auto und auf nach Heiligenblut am Großglockner!

Für mehr Infos & Details zu Ihrem Urlaub nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf oder senden Sie uns eine unverbindliche Urlaubsanfrage. Gerne stehen wir auch telefonisch unter +43 4824 2700-20 zu Ihrer Verfügung.

Unverbindlich anfragenFreie Unterkünfte finden
360° Panorama
Pano
Webcams
Cams
Lifte
 0/11
7°C/22°C
Kalender
Buchen